top of page

Our #1 Selling Album For 2017

We are in the last days of 2017 and without sounding too cliché - what the hell happened? This year drank too much coffee or something. I did, however, want to slip in one of those "Top Selling" type blog posts before I blink and it's 2020.

I thought maybe the best way to end this year would be to highlight the very best selling album at our funky little boho record store in Amarillo, Texas.

*That last line is straight up for SEO - #sorrynotsorry

So, you have probably already guessed which vinyl record it is. Rumours by the timeless Fleetwood Mac. First of all , it's one of our all time favorite albums. Secondly every time we get a copy it sells with in hours. We've even had multiple copies at the same time and they were gone within 24 hours.

Rumours is Fleetwood Mac's 11th studio album and it was released on February 4th, 1977 in the US and the following week in the UK. The majority of the album was recorded in California the previous year at the Record Plant.

At this point in the bands history, Fleetwood Mac consisted of guitarist/vocalist Lindsey Buckingham, keyboard player/vocalist Christine McVie, bass guitarist John McVie, drummer Mick Fleetwood and vocalist Stevie Nicks. After a long tour and multiple internal relationship issues, the band decided to put aside their differences and begin the creative process of a followup to their 1975 album, Fleetwood Mac. I have always heard/ been told that the title "Rumours" came from the fact that the music press of the time had been fascinated by the bands internal relationships and subsequent breakups and had posted several inaccurate articles about the band.

The spelling "Rumours" is the British English spelling of the word.

According to several accounts, the recording process was more like a cocaine party until the early morning hours then the band would begin the process of recording music. "Trauma, Trau-ma. The sessions were like a cocktail party every night—people everywhere. We ended up staying in these weird hospital rooms ... and of course John and me were not exactly the best of friends." ~ Christine McVie.

Track Listing:

Side 1

1. "Second Hand News"

2. "Dreams"

3. "Never Going Back Again"

4. "Don't Stop"

5. "Go Your Own Way"

6. "Songbird"

Side 2

7. "The Chain"

8. "You Make Loving Fun"

9. "I Don't Want to Know"

10. "Oh Daddy"

11. "Gold Dust Woman"

In March of 1977, the band was featured together in bed on the cover of Rolling Stone magazine. "The intention was a spoof on the rumors about our private lives, and yet, symbolically, the picture showed us exactly as we were – all married to each other," ~ Mick Fleetwood.

Rumours is Fleetwood Mac's most successful album. It won the Grammy Award for Album of the Year in 1978 and the album sold over 40 million copies worldwide -making it one of the best-selling albums of all time. No wonder it flies off of our shelves and out of our crates.

bottom of page